top of page
Search
  • Rob Adams

Presentation Preparation & Finished Video

So as I said in the last blogpost my group, group RED, had decided we would pre-record the presentation and make a video. On Tuesday just gone we met in Second Life to go through each of our topics within the subject of how millennials have a positive effect on the environment. We decided that meeting in Second Life to record would have the best impact as it really brought the viewer into Second Life as opposed to just showing someone a slideshow of only found images. We wanted to have a mix of the two, both our avatars as they speak accompanied with images relating to what we were saying.


When we met up it took us a while to get started as it was the first time for any of us to screen record a meeting online. Before starting we each tested that our audio was working but just as a back up I said to the group that we could use our phones to voice record as well so that it might be a clearer sound then the delayed sound Second Life can produce.


After beginning we each had a bit of a slip up because it was obvious none of us had actually spoken our scripts out loud and we began stumbling over our own words. Once the first run through was done we were going to just leave and possibly re-record the audio if it wasn't up to scratch on the screen recordings but unfortunately Eva's screen wasn't recording so we decided better to have extra recordings of the screen than not have enough. We went through the entire presentation again but this time was noticeable how much better we each sounded with what we were saying as we had just gone through it the first time around.


Once recorded we each uploaded our screen recordings along with the audio to a Google Drive file we shared. After I had all of the recordings, both visual ands audio, I began working on piecing the entire video together in iMovie. Some might think that I'm using a software that's not very suitable for good quality videos but it's a software that I've used for years and am very comfortable with so I didn't see the point in teaching myself a new way of doing something when iMovie would suffice.


I started out by piecing together the audio. When we each re-recorded the audio I had previously mentioned that if any of us mess up at ay point to just start from the. beginning of that sentence rather than from the very beginning as it. would take to long to do it that way. It took a while to cut out each of our mistakes and to remove any long pauses that would just disrupt the flow of the presentation.


Having finished the audio and know how long the video would be based on the audio length (8:14 minutes) I then started cutting up each of the recordings we had submitted. I wanted the video to have a multi-angle approach almost as if it were a real life recording of a presentation for TED talks but this time it would be a SL talks. I also felt that the multi-angle approach stopped the video from being to boring just having one shot of each of us for our section of the presentation. To add a bit extra I added in images that each of us sourced relating to certain parts of the presentation. Overall I'm very happy with how the video turned out and it's exactly what I had imagined it would be. As a whole this group project has been a joy to work with as I've been with 2 like minded people and we all got on very well together. This will be my last blogpost for now but who know's I might be back on Second Life again and thus back posting here again.


Below you will be able to view our presentation.


Thank you for reading my posts so far & goodbye, Rob aka robadamson


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page